This is a National Trust property, acquired in 1946 with an immense 3,800 acre estate. The house, originally the home of the Duke of Newcastle was demolished in 1938 and the garden sadly stripped of its statues and other features. The lake, a grotto, bridge and many fine trees remain but that's all. Lodges, stables and the estate church are the only remaining buildings, apart from the walled garden which was restored from the 1980's onwards and now provides a wonderful example of a working kitchen garden, maintained largely by volunteers.
Originally the walled garden would have been just a working food production area. In the 19C there was an additional six acres, producing fruit and vegetables for a household of over 100 people and growing everything from potatoes and cabbages to pineapples and peaches.The traditional range of lean-to glasshouses still contain grapes, peaches, nectarines, figs and other tender fruits. The garden also holds the National Collection of rhubarb! At the time of our visit half the glass was undergoing restoration which is great to see!
Nowadays as well as fruit and vegetables, there are numerous areas of flowers as well as a magnificent double herbaceous border. It was lovely to see old pelargoniums such as 'Paul Crampel' and 'Flower of Spring'.
We were delighted to be shown the back of the potting shed door where some long-forgotten gardener had recorded production lists for 1905. The Head Gardener's Cottage was also pointed out to us - a substantial red-brick building but lacking a front door. It is said that the Duke had this bricked up so that the poor fellow wouldn't forget his station in life! Not sure how true this is but the building certainly looks odd. Potting sheds and the gardener's mess room have been restored, displaying fascinating old equipment.
Amazing to think that these men tilled the soil in this very garden, watched the weather, sowed seeds and harvested crops over 100 years ago!